There were 2,116 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 348,342 in the last 365 days.

4th Judicial District Nominating Commission announces interview schedule ...

TOPEKA—The 4th Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene at 8:30 a.m. Tuesday, November 15, to interview nominees for a district magistrate judge vacancy in Coffey County.  
The new district magistrate judge position was among the posts certified by Supreme Court Administrative Order 2022-JA-020 after the Kansas Legislature passed and the governor signed 2022 House Substitute for Substitute for Senate Bill No. 267 to fund them.
The 4th Judicial District is composed of Anderson, Coffey, Franklin, and Osage counties.  
Interview schedule  
9 a.m.  
Kraig Kirchner, New Strawn, case manager, CrossWinds Counseling
9:30 a.m.  
Kara Reynolds, Burlington, executive director, Coffey County Transportation
10 a.m.   
Rose Rice, Ottawa, retired parole officer, Kansas Department of Corrections; United States Postal Service
10:30 a.m.
Cara Bowen, Colony, legal assistant, Allen County Attorney's Office
Public access  
Interviews are open to the public. They will take place at: 
Coffey County Courthouse  
110 S 6th St.
Burlington, KS  
Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meeting should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible:  
ADA Coordinator
TTY at 711  
District magistrate judge appointment process  
To be considered for district magistrate judge, a nominee must be:  

  • a resident of Coffey County at the time of taking office and while holding office;  

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and  

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination to become certified within 18 months. 

The nominating commission selects whom to appoint to fill magistrate judge positions.

Term of office  
After serving one year in office, a new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.  
Nominating commission  
The 4th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Eric S. Rosen as the nonvoting chair; Craig Cole, Garnett; Anthony Mersman, Greeley; Phyllis Gardner and Janet Walsh, Lyndon; Ianne Dickinson and Forrest Lowry, Ottawa; John Boyd, Pomona; and Timothy Johnson, Waverly.