IMPORTANT - EIN Presswire is proud to announce the launch of its AI-powered press release generator. Try it now!

There were 2,394 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 397,325 in the last 365 days.

1st Judicial District Nominating Commission announces interview schedule ...

TOPEKA—The 1st Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene at 8:30 a.m. Monday, August 29, to interview nominees to fill two district judge positions.  

One position was created by Judge Martin Asher's July 8 retirement. The other was among the positions certified by Supreme Court Administrative Order 2022-JA-020 after the Kansas Legislature passed and the governor signed 2022 House Substitute for Substitute for Senate Bill No. 267 to fund them. 

The 1st Judicial District is composed of Atchison and Leavenworth counties. 

Interview schedule  

9 a.m. 

Amy Coppola Crawford, Milford, district magistrate judge, 8th Judicial District 

9:30 a.m. 

John Kurth, Atchison, Kurth law Office Inc. P.A.; Kickapoo, Sac and Fox, and Iowa tribal prosecutor   

10 a.m. 

Crystal Henson, Tonganoxie, municipal court city prosecutor, Unified Government of Wyandotte County  

10:45 a.m. 

Clinton Lee, Olathe, The Law Office of Clinton W. Lee  

11:15 a.m. 

Geoffrey Sonntag, Tonganoxie, public defender, City of Leavenworth; private practice, Sonntag Law Office 

11:45 a.m. 

Rhonda Levinson, Kansas City, attorney, Perry & Trent LLC  

1 p.m. 

James Antwone Floyd, Bonner Springs, J.A. Floyd Law 

1:30 p.m. 

Andrew Werring, Atchison, partner, Farris, Fresh & Werring Law Office, LLC  

2 p.m. 

Allen Ternent, Atchison, Ternent Law Office 

2:30 p.m. 

John Fresh, Atchison, partner, Farris, Fresh & Werring Law Office, LLC  

Public access 

The meeting is open to the public, and will take place: 

Leavenworth Justice Center 

Courtroom #2 

601 S 3rd St. 

Leavenworth, KS 66048 


Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meeting should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible: 
ADA Coordinator 
TTY at 711 
Eligibility requirements 
A nominee for district judge must be: 

  • at least 30 years old; 

  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and 

  • a resident of the judicial district at the time of taking office and while holding office. 

Nominees to governor 
The nominating commission will select three to five people whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill these positions according to statutory qualification and residency requirements. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint. 
If there are not sufficient nominees who reside in the judicial district who are deemed qualified by the commission, the commission may consider nominees who reside outside the district. 
Term of office 
After serving one year in office, a new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term. 
Nominating commission 
The 1st Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Eric S. Rosen as the nonvoting chair; Robert Bednar, Julia Clem, and Rosemary Nies, Atchison; Michael Jones, Lansing; G. Ronald Bates Jr., Gregory Beck, and Kevin Reardon, Leavenworth; and Lois Meadows, Tonganoxie.