There were 126 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 467,097 in the last 365 days.

3rd Judicial Nominating Commission announces interview schedule for ...

TOPEKA—The 3rd Judicial District Nominating Commission will meet at 9 a.m. Wednesday, July 27, to interview nominees to fill two district magistrate judge vacancies.  
The new district magistrate judge positions were certified by Administrative Order 2022-JA-020 after the Kansas Legislature passed and the governor signed 2022 House Substitute for Substitute for Senate Bill No. 267 to fund them.  
The 3rd Judicial District is Shawnee County.  
Interview schedule   
9:30 a.m.   
Kaitlin Alegria, Topeka, development director, School of Law, Washburn University Alumni Association and Foundation 
9:50 a.m.   
Kevin Brinker, Berryton, lieutenant, Kansas Highway Patrol    
10:10 a.m.   
JaLynn Copp, Topeka  
10:30 a.m.    
Dennis Jones, Topeka, district judge pro tem, 3rd Judicial District 
10:50 a.m. 
11 a.m. 
Anson Tullis, Topeka, staff attorney, Kansas Legal Services 
11:20 a.m. 
Christopher Turner, Topeka, director of enforcement data and judicial outreach, Commercial Vehicle Safety Alliance 
11:40 a.m. 
Vicki Yost, Topeka, senior paralegal, City of Topeka  
12 p.m.  
Vicki Zielinksi, Topeka, licensed practical nurse, USD 501  
Public interviews   
Interviews are open to the public. They will take place at: 
Shawnee County Courthouse 
Room 403 
200 SE 7th St. 
Topeka, KS 
ADA accommodation   
Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meeting should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible, preferably 10 working days before the meeting date:   
ADA Coordinator 
TTY at 711   
Eligibility requirements  
Nominees for district magistrate judge must be: 

  • a resident of Shawnee County at the time of taking office and while holding office;  

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and  

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination to become certified within 18 months.  

Term of office  
After serving one year in office, the new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.  
Nominating commission   
The 3rd Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Caleb Stegall as the nonvoting chair; Toby McCullough, Rossville; and Whitney Casement, Thomas Lemon, Randall Phillips, Rebecca Sanders, and Eric Stafford, Topeka.