IMPORTANT - EIN Presswire is proud to announce the launch of its AI-powered press release generator. Try it now!

There were 912 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 394,135 in the last 365 days.

3rd Judicial Nominating Commission to meet October 19

TOPEKA—The 3rd Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene via telephone conference at 9 a.m. Tuesday, October 19, to discuss the nomination process to fill a district judge vacancy.  

The vacancy will be created when Chief Judge Richard Anderson retires December 11.  

The 3rd Judicial District is composed of Shawnee County. 

Public access 

The meeting is open to the public. To listen: 

call 1-877-400-9499; and  enter conference code 2199381974 


Any person with disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meeting should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible: 

ADA Coordinator  785-296-2256  TTY at 711 

Eligibility requirements 

A nominee for district judge must be: 

  • at least 30 years old; 

  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and 

  • a resident of the judicial district at the time of taking office and while holding office. 

The nominating commission seeks nominations and then meets to interview nominees. Interviews are open to the public. 

Nominees to governor 

The nominating commission will select from three to five people whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill the position according to statutory qualification and residency requirements. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint. 

If there are not three nominees who reside in the judicial district who are deemed qualified by the commission, the commission may consider nominees who reside outside the district. 

Term of office 

After serving one year in office, a new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term. 

Nominating commission 

The 3rd Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Caleb Stegall as the nonvoting chair; Toby McCullough, Rossville; Daniel Crow, Thomas Lemon, Randall Phillips, Rebecca Sanders, and Eric Stafford, all of Topeka.