There were 1,951 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 355,001 in the last 365 days.

Kara Reynolds selected for district magistrate judge position in Coffey ...

TOPEKA—The 4th Judicial District Nominating Commission has selected Kara Reynolds to fill a magistrate judge position in Coffey County.  
Reynold’s new position will be effective on her swearing-in. She currently is the executive director of Coffey County Transportation.  
The 4th Judicial District is composed of Anderson, Coffey, Franklin, and Osage counties. 
The position was among several certified by Supreme Court Administrative Order 2022-JA-020 after the Kansas Legislature passed and the governor signed 2022 House Substitute for Substitute for Senate Bill No. 267 to fund them.  
District magistrate judge appointment process  
To be considered for district magistrate judge, a nominee must be:  

  • a resident of Coffey County at the time of taking office and while holding office;  

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and  

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination to become certified within 18 months.  

The nominating commission selects whom to appoint to fill magistrate judge positions.  
Term of office 
After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.  
Nominating commission  
The 4th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Eric S. Rosen as the nonvoting chair; Craig Cole, Garnett; Anthony Mersman, Greeley; Phyllis Gardner and Janet Walsh, Lyndon; Ianne Dickinson and Forrest Lowry, Ottawa; John Boyd, Pomona; and Timothy Johnson, Waverly.