JUNE 9: The North/South Chamber Orchestra's Season Finale!

NorSou June 9 artists

NorSou June 9 artists

Music by composers from Canada, Mexico, Venezuela, and the US will receive their first hearing in New York City under the baton of Max Lifchitz

North/South rewarded the listener with a diverting sampler of some recent compositional styles”
— New York Times
NEW YORK, NEW YORK, USA, June 6, 2022 /EINPresswire.com/ -- The North/South Chamber Orchestra under the direction of Max Lifchitz concludes its 42nd consecutive season on Thursday, June 9 with a free admission concert featuring music by composers from Canada, Mexico, Venezuela, and the US. Mioi Takeda -- the Japanese American violinist will appear as soloist.

The event will start at 8 PM and will take place at the intimate and delightful auditorium of St. John's In the Village located at 218 W 11th St on Manhattan's Greenwich Village. It will end around 9:30 PM.

In accordance with CDC recommendations, masks and proof of vaccination required to attend in person.

The concert will also be livestreamed via YouTube and may be accessed by going to


The North/South Chamber Orchestra will perform the following works:

Allan Crossman's Caprice is a playful one-movement work inspired by the composer's West Coast travels. A native New Yorker, Crossman resided in Montreal where he taught at Concordia University for many years.

Victor Kioulaphides' Summer Concerto combines lyricism with virtuosity. Mioi Takeda, who commissioned the work, will appear as soloist. Increasingly active as a composer, Kioulaphides has enjoyed a lengthy career as double-bassist and mandolin performer.

Max Lifchitz's Fire Within was written in response to the tragic demise of Heather Heyer during the distressing events that transpired in Charlottesville, VA on August 12, 2017. In four movements, the work closes with an expression of hope for a future when amity, conciliation and peace will prevail.

Hsueh-Yung Shen's Dream-Piece (Nocturne IV-B) was inspired by the 1989 Tiananmen Square protests. A native of Ithaca, NY, Shen was educated at Harvard and Stanford. Also active as timpanist, his works have been performed throughout the US and Europe.

Francisco Zapata-Bello's Sincretismos (Syncretism) is an exciting three-movement work featuring an amalgam of propulsive rhythms and lyrical lines. Zapata-Bello is a Venezuelan guitarist and choral conductor whose music is being heard in New York City for the very first time.

The event is made possible with public funds from the New York State Council on the Arts and the New York City Department of Cultural Affairs. Additional support from the Zethus Fund, the BMI Foundation; and the Music Performance Trust Fund. Gifts from many generous individual donors are also gratefully acknowledged.
Visit the North/South Consonance YouTube Channel


For the complete North/South concert series schedule please visit


To download and/or stream many of the North/South Recordings please visit


Max Lifchitz
North/South Consonance, Inc