IMPORTANT - EIN Presswire is proud to announce the launch of its AI-powered press release generator. Try it now!

There were 2,449 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 398,042 in the last 365 days.

3rd Judicial District Nominating Commission to meet May 13

TOPEKA—The 3rd Judicial District Nominating Commission did not meet May 4 as planned due to technical difficulties. The commission now plans to convene by telephone conference at 11 a.m. Friday, May 13, to review nominations for two district judge vacancies. ​ The district judge vacancies are due to two retirements. Judge David Debenham will retire June 14 and Judge Nancy Parrish June 24.

The commission will also receive an update on two new district magistrate judge positions assigned the 3rd Judicial District by Administrative Order 2022-JA-020.

The 3rd Judicial District is Shawnee County.   Public access     The meeting is open to the public. To listen:    call 1-866-705-2554; and   enter guest passcode 895421#.  

ADA accommodation     Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meeting should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible, preferably 10 working days before the meeting date:     ADA Coordinator 785-296-2256   TTY at 711     Eligibility requirements  

  • Nominees for district judge must be:  

  • at least 30 years old;  

  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and  

  • a resident of the judicial district at the time of taking office and while holding office. 

Nominees to the governor     The nominating commission will interview nominees and then select from three to five people for each vacancy whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill the positions according to statutory qualification and residency requirements. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint.     Term of office     After serving one year in office, the new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.     Nominating commission     The 3rd Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Caleb Stegall as the nonvoting chair; Toby McCullough, Rossville; and Whitney Casement, Thomas Lemon, Randall Phillips, Rebecca Sanders, and Eric Stafford, Topeka.