There were 2,311 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 392,872 in the last 365 days.

28th Judicial District Nominating Commission to meet February 8

TOPEKA—The 28th Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene via telephone conference at 10:30 a.m. Tuesday, February 8, to discuss the nomination process to fill a district judge vacancy.  

The vacancy will be created when Judge Patrick Thompson retires June 30.  

The 28th Judicial District is composed of Saline and Ottawa counties.  

Public access  

The meeting is open to the public. To listen:  

call 1-877-400-9499; and   enter conference code 2199381974.  


Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meeting should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible:  

ADA Coordinator  785-296-2256   TTY at 711  

Eligibility requirements  

A nominee for district judge must be:  

  • at least 30 years old;  

  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and  

  • a resident of the judicial district at the time of taking office and while holding office.  

The nominating commission seeks nominations and then meets to interview nominees. Interviews are open to the public. 

Nominees to governor  

The nominating commission will select from three to five people whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill the position according to statutory qualification and residency requirements. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint.  

If there are not three nominees who reside in the judicial district who are deemed qualified by the commission, the commission may consider nominees who reside outside the district.  

Term of office  

After serving one year in office, a new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.  

Nominating commission  

The 28th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Supreme Court Justice K.J. Wall as the nonvoting chair; David Stanley of Bennington; Jay Macy of Minneapolis; Lance Cochran, Robert German, Peter Johnston, and Christine Ritter of Salina; and Robert Martin of Solomon.