There were 2,015 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 392,160 in the last 365 days.

12th Judicial Nominating Commission to meet September 27

The 12th Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene by telephone conference at 11:30 a.m. Monday, September 27, to discuss seeking additional nominees for a district magistrate judge vacancy in Lincoln County created by Judge Brian Grace’s October 1 retirement. 

The commission received one nomination by a noon deadline September 20. 

The 12th Judicial District is composed of Cloud, Jewell, Lincoln, Mitchell, Republic, and Washington counties. 

Public access  The meeting is open to the public. To listen, dial in and enter the conference code: 

Accommodation  Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meetings should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible, preferably 10 working days before the meeting date:    ADA Coordinator  785-296-2256  TTY at 711 

Eligibility requirements  Kansas law requires that a district magistrate judge be: 

  • a resident of Lincoln County at the time of taking office and while holding office; 

  • a graduate of a high school, a secondary school, or the equivalent; and 

  • either a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas or able to pass an examination given by the Supreme Court to become certified within 18 months. 

Term of office After serving one year in office, the new magistrate judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term. 

Nominating commission The 12th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice K.J. Wall as the nonvoting chair; Carol Good, Barnard; William Navis, Belleville; Dwight Daniels, Curtis Frasier, and Jerry Harrison, Beloit; Dana Brewer and J. Bradley Lowell, Concordia; Tanner Johnson, Courtland; Daniel Metz, Lincoln; Darrell Miller and Roger Rightmeier, Mankato; and Bruce Meyer, Palmer.