There were 109 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 446,393 in the last 365 days.

Chelsea Anokye-Agyei to Represent Delaware in 2019 Poetry Out Loud National Finals in Washington

Hodgson Vo-Tech senior to advance to National Finals in Washington, DC

Smyrna, Del. (February 26, 2019) – From an initial field of 20 Delaware high school students and then twelve state finalists, Chelsea Anokye-Agyei, a senior from Hodgson Vo-Tech High School, earned the title of 2019 Poetry Out Loud Delaware State Champion at the state finals held in Smyrna, Del. on Feb. 26. The first runner-up was Samuel McGarvey from Tall Oaks Classical School and the second runner-up was Sarah Stevenson from Milford Senior High School.

Photo Credit: Joe del Tufo Top Three – First Lady Tracey Quillen Carney, Sarah Stevenson, Chelsea Anokye-Agyei, Samuel McGarvey, Division of the Arts Director Paul Weagraff

Anokye-Agyei’s final recitation, “The Albatross” by Kate Bass, earned her high marks with the judges. The full poem can be found on the Poetry Foundation’s website.

For her winning presentation, Anokye-Agyei will receive $200 and an all-expense-paid trip to Washington with a chaperone to compete at the national championship on April 29 – May 1. Hodgson Vo-Tech High School will receive a $500 stipend for the purchase of poetry materials. Samuel McGarvey, the first runner-up will receive $100, and Tall Oaks Classical School will receive $200 for its school library.

The Poetry Out Loud state competition, sponsored by the Delaware Division of the Arts in partnership with the National Endowment for the Arts and the Poetry Foundation, is part of a national program that encourages high school students to learn about great poetry through memorization, performance, and competition.

Photo Credit: Joe del Tufo Back row: First Lady Tracey Quillen Carney, Samuel McGarvey, Brandon Greenlee, Ashton Driver, Chelsea Anokye-Agyei, Daniel Patrick Johnson, Nadia Sheikh, Mariela Rivero (behind), Emma Elliott (floral pants) Front row: Catherine Enslen, Megan Chen, Anne Rosenthal, Sarah Stevenson, Division of the Arts Director Paul Weagraff
Reverend John G. Moore, Susan Kehoe, First Lady Tracey Quillen Carney, Dr. Ethan Joella, Dr. Jesse Zuba, Dr. David Teague, Christian Wills, Chet’la Sebree, Heather Morrissey

Learn more

Name School
Landon Hayes Cape Henlopen High School
Jo Griffin Concord High School
Emma Elliott* Dover High School
Chelsea Anokye-Agyei* Hodgson Vo-Tech High School
Amy Garcia-Perez Indian River High School
Tyler Keeler Laurel Senior High School
Sarah Stevenson* Milford Senior High School
Nadia Sheikh* MOT Charter High School
Daniel Patrick Johnson* Mount Sophia Academy
Megan Chen* Newark Charter High School
Ashton Driver* Red Lion Christian Academy
Anne Rosenthal* Sanford School
Alex Dornenburg Seaford Senior High School
Liliana Yenovkian Sussex Academy of the Arts & Sciences
Brandon Greenlee* Sussex Central High School
Charmaine Pasicolan St. Mark’s High School
Samuel McGarvey* Tall Oaks Classical School
Catherine Enslen* Ursuline Academy
Mariela Rivero* Wilmington Christian School
James Tallman Wilmington Friends School
 *2019 Delaware State Finalists

All photos should be credited with – Photo Credit: Joe del Tufo

About the Delaware Division of the Arts The Delaware Division of the Arts is an agency of the State of Delaware. Together with its advisory body, the Delaware State Arts Council, the Division administers grants and programs that support arts programming, educate the public, increase awareness of the arts, and integrate the arts into all facets of Delaware life. Funding for Division programs is provided by annual appropriations from the Delaware General Assembly and grants from the National Endowment for the Arts, a federal agency. For more information about the Delaware Division of the Arts, visit or call 302-577-8278. Image: 2018 Award Winners exhibition at the Biggs Museum. Painting (right) by Thomas del Porte, 2018 Established Professional, Visual Arts: painting


Contact: Leeann Wallett, Program Officer, Communications and Marketing 302-577-8280,