There were 564 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 156,112 in the last 365 days.

Hoyer Statement on House Passage of Additional Legislation to Reopen Government

WASHINGTON, DC – House Majority Leader Steny H. Hoyer (MD) released the following statement today after House Democrats and some Republicans passed the Transportation, Housing and Urban Development, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act for 2019 and the Agriculture, Rural Development, Food and Drug Administration, and Related Agencies Appropriations Act for 2019 to end the Trump shut down and reopen portions of the government: 

“Continuing our efforts to end the Trump shutdown, House Democrats – joined by a growing number of Republicans – today passed Fiscal Year 2019 appropriations bills to reopen parts of government that provide 40 million Americans facing hunger with nutrition assistance, restore pay to security agents at airports and federal aviation safety inspectors, put an end to delays for federally backed mortgage applications, and avert a shutdown crisis for low-income rental housing assistance.  This comes after the Democratic-led House passed legislation yesterday to reopen the IRS and other agencies.  In the days ahead, we will continue bringing additional bills to the Floor to reopen government.

“I call on Senate Leader McConnell to allow a vote on these bills – bills which are identical to those written by a Republican Senate and passed 92-6 in the last Congress – and send them to the President for his signature.  Let’s reopen the government now, end this political hostage-taking, and then turn to negotiations over how best to secure our border.”

Distribution channels: U.S. Politics

EIN Presswire does not exercise editorial control over third-party content provided, uploaded, published, or distributed by users of EIN Presswire. We are a distributor, not a publisher, of 3rd party content. Such content may contain the views, opinions, statements, offers, and other material of the respective users, suppliers, participants, or authors.