There were 600 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 350,732 in the last 365 days.


Show Hosts and Special Talent Performances Announced

OHSWEKEN, ON, CANADA, February 23, 2018 / -- Indspire, the largest funder of Indigenous post-secondary education outside the federal government, announced a new multi-year agreement naming TD Bank Group as their Lead Bank Supporter, and Presenting Corporate Sponsor of the annual Indspire Awards. Celebrating 25 years, the 2018 Indspire Awards will continue to bestow the highest honour on Indigenous people, marking the significant contributions of 13 more extraordinary Indigenous people in Canada.

“We are especially delighted to welcome TD Bank in this leadership role – they understand the vital importance of role models and education in securing a brighter future for Indigenous youth,” said Roberta Jamieson, President and CEO of Indspire, and Executive Producer of the Indspire Awards. “Together, we will recognize and celebrate the journey and accomplishments of 13 extraordinary First Nations, Inuit and Métis individuals, whose discipline, drive and determination to set high standards and accomplish their goals is unsurpassed. We will also share and celebrate the impact of their stories with all Canadians.”

"At TD, we are committed to doing our part to lead change through employment, education and the support of Indigenous economic development," said Kerry Peacock, Executive Vice President, Day to Day Banking, Investing and Transformation, and Chair, Indigenous Peoples Committee, TD Bank Group. "We are thrilled to strengthen our ongoing partnership with Indspire and recognize the accomplishments of these 13 remarkable individuals as they lead the way for future generations.”

This year’s 25th Anniversary show will be co-hosted by Darrell Dennis, award-winning comedian, actor, screenwriter and radio personality and Kyle Nobess, actor (Mohawk Girls) and international speaker.

The 2018 Indspire Awards will also feature special performances by Indigenous talent from across Canada. This year’s list of talent is an extraordinary one and features 2018 Juno-nominated Indian City led by Vince Fontaine and 2018 Juno-nominated Sanikiluaq singer and songwriter Kelly Fraser, dancer/choreography Santee Smith, Genie Award winner for Best Achievement in Music, Jennifer Kreisberg and classically trained Canadian cellist Cris Derksen, together with members of the Winnipeg Symphony Orchestra. 2005 Juno-nominated Asham Stompers, and 13-year old twin fiddler brothers Double the Trouble accompanied by not much older 20-year old Gustin Adjun.

The Youth Award presenters will be internationally acclaimed, award-winning Canadian film and TV actress Tantoo Cardinal, host of Unreserved on CBC Radio Rosanna Deerchild, and Community Leader and Arctic Sports Coach Inuit High Jumper, Johnny Issaluk. The Live Voice Over Artist for the show is professional personality and producer for Winnipeg local Holly Bernier.

The 2018 Indspire Awards ceremony will be held in Winnipeg, Manitoba on March 23, 2018, to be broadcast on APTN and CBC at a later date. For tickets, please call 416.987.0250 or 1.855.INDSPIRE (463.7747) x228. Tickets can also be purchased online at or by emailing

Indspire gratefully acknowledges the support of the following:
Lead Partner: Government of Canada
Regional Partner: Government of Manitoba
Indigenous Youth Sponsor: Shell Canada Limited
Major Sponsors: CBC, APTN, Suncor Energy Inc., and Syncrude Canada Ltd.
Youth Laureate Sponsor: Great-West Life
Founding Sponsor & Official Airline: Air Canada
Post-Ceremony Reception Sponsor: Teck Resources Limited

About TD Community Giving
TD Bank Group invests in communities in order to effect positive change in the places where it operates and where its clients and employees live and work. In 2017, TD donated over $107 million to support community organizations in Canada, the United States and the United Kingdom. For further information, please visit

About Indspire
Indspire is an Indigenous-led national charity that invests in the education of Indigenous people for the long-term benefit of these individuals, their families and communities, and Canada. With the support of its funding partners, Indspire invests in First Nations, Inuit, and Métis students so they will achieve their highest potential. In 2016-2017, Indspire awarded $11.6 million through 3,764 bursaries and scholarships to First Nations, Inuit and Métis students across Canada. For more information about the 2018 Indspire Awards, visit



For Indspire:

Cherie J. Cohen
Director, Communications & Marketing
416.987.0260 / 416.710.6070

For TD:

Geraldine Anderson
Manager, Corporate & Public Affairs, TD
email us here