There were 715 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 170,762 in the last 365 days.

Parliament replaces MPs

Luanda, ANGOLA, October 28 - The National Assembly (AN) this Friday in Luanda has welcomed the movement of 32 MPs in the parliamentary groups of the MPLA and CASA-CE, during the first extraordinary plenary session of the First Legislative Session of the IV Legislature.,

Those are substitute deputies called to the effectiveness of functions, according to the order of precedence of the list to which the holders of the vacant mandate belonged to the candidates, being 15 by the national circle and 17 by the provincial circle.

Among the personalities who suspended their mandates as deputies in the National Assembly, are the leader of the CASA-CE coalition, Abel Chivukuvuku, as well as Ana Paula dos Santos and Ana Dias Lourenço, former and current first ladies, respectively.

Pedro Sebastião, of MPLA, also abdicated his participation in the National Assembly for incompatibility of functions due to having been appointed head of the Security House of the President of the Republic.

The special session also approved the draft resolution on the composition of the leadership of the Group of Women Parliamentarians and the Board of Directors of the National Assembly.

Luísa Damião, MPLA MP, was elected chairperson of the Women Parliamentarians Group, with first and second vice-chairperson being Welwitcia dos Santos and Helena Bonguela Abel.

The new Board of Directors of the Parliament comprises Elvira Peregrina de Jesus Van-Dúnem (MPLA – chairperson), Manuel Savihemba (UNITA) and Alexandre Sebastião André, of the CASA-CE coalition.

The meeting also approved the draft resolution on the composition of the Standing Committee of the National Assembly.

 The committee exercises, inter alia, the powers of the AN relating to the mandate of the MPs, convene the Parliament in an extraordinary manner for the consideration of specific urgent subjects and issue an opinion in connection with the declaration of a state of siege or emergency.

The body is composed of the vice – speakers of AN, secretaries of the Bureau, heads of the Parliamentary Groups and Specialized Working Committees, chair of the Group of Women Parliamentarians and 12 deputies appointed in proportion to the seats of each political party.


Distribution channels:

EIN Presswire does not exercise editorial control over third-party content provided, uploaded, published, or distributed by users of EIN Presswire. We are a distributor, not a publisher, of 3rd party content. Such content may contain the views, opinions, statements, offers, and other material of the respective users, suppliers, participants, or authors.