There were 601 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 163,077 in the last 365 days.

Historic Hotels of Europe names finalists of its 2017 Awards. Winners will be announced in Santorini on October 23rd.

Winners will be announced at an exclusive Awards Ceremony in Santorini on Sunday October 23rd.

JUVISY SUR ORGE, FRANCE, October 18, 2016 / -- Historic Hotels of Europe are delighted to announce the finalists in the Historic Hotels of Europe 2017 Awards. Now in its fifth year, these awards are voted for by the public and give recognition to those historic hotels in the membership across 18 countries.

All finalists are invited to an exclusive Awards Ceremony Day in Santorini that includes a discussion forum hosted by VSN Club, a guided visit to the Akrotiri archaeological site and lunch in a taverna by the sea. The Awards 2017 Ceremony & Gala Dinner is being held in the evening at Selene Restaurant in the Santorini Cultural Village.

Barbara Avdis, chair of Historic Hotels of Europe commented:
“Travellers seek not only for the good value but also experiences that enable them to discover the “world around them”. It is vital for Historic Hotels of Europe to showcase the local differences and focus on the community of historic hotels and it’s identity. The activities our finalist’s experience span philosophy, antiquities, wine tasting and a gourmet dinner - all are aligned with the intrinsic values of Historic Hotels of Europe. ”

All the hotels are focused on excellence in hospitality and a commitment to the preservation of European history and culture. The awards celebrate those hotels that have demonstrated exceptional dedication this year by touching the hearts of their guests whilst showcasing their cultural heritage and identity. Historic Hotels of Europe look forward to announcing the winners in Santorini on 23rd October.

The finalists are (in alphabetical order):

City Historic Hotel Award:
As Janelas Verdes, Portugal
Hotel Krafft Basel, Switzerland
Marpessa Smart Luxury Hotel, Greece

Historic Hotel Castle Award:
Barberstown Castle, Ireland
Chateau de l”Epinay, France
Castle Hotel Rheinfels, Germany

Historic Hotel Countryside Award:
Kurhaus Bergun, Switzerland
See-Villa Millstatt, Austria
L’Unicorno, Italy

Historic Hotel Gourmet Award:
Lysebu Hotell, Norway
Villa Necas, Slovakia
Villa Sjötorp, Sweden

Historic Hotel Host of the Year:
Allegory Boutique Hotel, Greece
Hotel Hviezdoslav, Slovakia
Hotel Union Øye, Norway

Historic Hotel New Member Award:
Szent András Kastély, Hungary
Château Gbeľany, Slovakia
Grand Hotel les Trois Rois, Switzerland

Historic Hotel Spa Award:
Bodysgallen Hall & Spa, Wales
Grandhotel Praha, Slovakia
Solstrand Hotel & Bad, Norway

Historic Hotel Wedding Experience:
Hotel Chateau Belá, Slovakia
Rathsllagh House, Ireland
Chateau Sundbyholm, Sweden

Historic Hotel with “A Story to Tell”:
Apponyi Hotel, Hungary
Grandhotel Starý Smokovec, Slovakia
Hotel Vécsecity, Hungary

Most Romantic Historic Hotel:
Esperas Hotel, Greece
Kryimai Hotel, Greece
Mont Juliet, Ireland

About Historic Hotels of Europe

Historic Hotels of Europe is a membership organisation representing unique places to stay in Europe. Encompassing castles, chateaus, palaces monasteries, convents and more, they have more than 500 members, spanning 18 countries. Each property within the association has been handpicked for their historical architecture and the unique stories they tell.

This year’s awards are hosted by Yades Greek Historic Hotels. Historic Hotels of Europe are proud to collaborate with the following Award sponsors: BMW Hellas, the VSN Hub, Taste3 Tea Obsession and under the auspices of the Greek Ministry of Tourism. The Awards are also supported by the Greek National Tourism Organisation.

Past award winners can be viewed here:

Claudia Buscher
Historic Hotels of Europe
0039 335 5363405
email us here

Distribution channels: Travel & Tourism Industry