IMPORTANT - EIN Presswire is proud to announce the launch of its AI-powered press release generator. Try it now!

There were 955 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 394,059 in the last 365 days.

9th Judicial District Nominating Commission to meet June 9

TOPEKA—The 9th Judicial District Nominating Commission will convene by videoconference at noon Thursday, June 9, to discuss the schedule to fill a new district judge post.
The district judge post in the 9th Judicial District was among several certified by Supreme Court Administrative Order 2022-JA-020 after the Kansas Legislature passed and the governor signed 2022 House Substitute for Substitute for Senate Bill No. 267 to fund them.  
The 9th Judicial District is composed of Harvey and McPherson counties.

Public access
The meeting is open to the public. It will take place via videoconference and will be livestreamed on the Kansas judicial branch YouTube channel.

To comment:

Any person with a disability who requires accommodation to access the nominating commission meeting should notify the judicial branch ADA coordinator as early as possible:
ADA Coordinator
TTY at 711
Eligibility requirements
A nominee for district judge must be:

  • at least 30 years old;

  • a lawyer admitted to practice in Kansas and engaged in the practice of law for at least five years, whether as a lawyer, judge, or full-time teacher at an accredited law school; and

  • a resident of the judicial district at the time of taking office and while holding office.

The nominating commission seeks nominations and then meets to interview nominees. Interviews are open to the public.  
Nominees to governor
The nominating commission will select three to five people whose names will be submitted to the governor to fill this position according to statutory qualification and residency requirements. The governor has 60 days after receiving the names to decide whom to appoint.
If there are not sufficient nominees who reside in the judicial district who are deemed qualified by the commission, the commission may consider nominees who reside outside the district.
Term of office
After serving one year in office, a new judge must stand for a retention vote in the next general election to remain in the position. If retained, the incumbent will serve a four-year term.
Nominating Commission
The 9th Judicial District Nominating Commission consists of Justice Melissa Standridge as the nonvoting chair; Thomas Adrian, George “Chip” Westfall, Jana McKinney, and John  Robb, all of Newton; and David O’Dell, Brian Bina, Glenn Snell, and Ann Elliott, all of McPherson.
April 15, 2022, news release: Chief justice signs administrative order certifying new judge posts