There were 360 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 203,880 in the last 365 days.

Creagh Appoints Members to Michigan Agriculture Environmental Assurance Program Advisory Council

March 31, 2011

LANSING, MI – Michigan Department of Agriculture and Rural Development Director Keith Creagh today announced the appointments to the Michigan Agriculture Environmental Assurance Program (MAEAP) Advisory Council. The Council, created as part of Public Acts 1 and 2 signed by Governor Rick Snyder on March 8, 2011, will advise the Director on the implementation of MAEAP including recommendations on MAEAP standards and protocols for farm verification.

"These individuals bring tremendous skill and knowledge to the Council and I look forward to working with them as we provide assistance to Michigan farm operations as they maintain their economic viability while being environmentally responsible," Creagh said.

The Council will be comprised of Creagh; Dan Wyant, Michigan Department of Environmental Quality Director; Thomas Coon, Ph.D., Michigan State University Extension Director; and the following appointees who will each serve three-year terms expiring on March 31, 2014.

· Max Benne, St. Joseph & Chippewa counties farmer
· Ken Blight, Calhoun County farmer
· Elaine Brown, Michigan Food & Farming Systems
· Jim Byrum, Michigan Agri-Business Association
· James Clift, Michigan Environmental Council
· Lauri Elbing, The Nature Conservancy
· Shelly Hartmann, Van Buren County farmer
· Melissa Higbee, Shiawassee Conservation District
· Sam Hines, Michigan Pork Producers Association
· Allen Krizek, Ph.D., Michigan State University Extension
· Phil Korson, Michigan Cherry Marketing Institute
· Lori Phalen, Michigan Conservation Districts
· Scott Piggott, Michigan Farm Bureau
· Jody Pollok-Newsom, Michigan Corn Growers Association
· Dale Rozeboom, Ph.D., Michigan State University
· Jim Scott, U.S. Dept. of Agriculture, Natural Resource Conservation Services
· Gary Trimner, Michigan Milk Producer’s Association
· Bruce Weir, Jackson County farmer
· Paul Zugger, Michigan United Conservation Clubs

The first meeting of the Council will be Friday, April 1 at 1:00 p.m. in Constitution Hall, ConCon Conference Room, 525 West Allegan Street, Lansing.