September Meeting of National Tax Attorney Association Welcomes Ten New Members, Elects One New Regent

The American College of Tax Counsel elected ten new Fellows to membership and elected one new Regent at the September meeting of the College’s Board of Regents

ROCHESTER, NEW YORK, UNITED STATES, September 22, 2021 / -- The American College of Tax Counsel extends a warm welcome to the ten new Fellows elected to the organization by the College’s Board of Regents at its September 17, 2021 meeting. The new Fellows elected to the College are:

• W. Edward “Ted” Afield, Philip C. Cook Low-Income Taxpayer Clinic, Georgia State University College of Law, Atlanta, GA
• Layla J. Asali, Miller & Chevalier Chtd., Washington, DC
• Joanne B. Faycurry, Schiff Hardin LLP, Ann Arbor, MI
• Lynn A. Gandhi, Foley & Lardner LLP, Detroit, MI
• Edward J. Leyden, Leyden Law LLC, Bowie, MD
• Charles J. Moll, III, McDermott Will & Emery LLP, San Francisco, CA
• Robert E. Panoff, Robert E. Panoff, P.A., Miami, FL
• Loren C. Ponds, Miller & Chevalier Chtd., Washington, DC
• Leah Robinson, Mayer Brown LLP, New York, NY
• Gary R. Thorup, Dentons Durham Jones Pinegar, P.C., Salt Lake City, UT

To become a Fellow of the College, individuals must be nominated by a current Fellow and then evaluated by a committee of the College’s Board of Regents. Criteria for membership in the College include being licensed as an attorney in the United States for at least 15 years, with a career that is principally devoted to tax law and tax-related matters. Prospective Fellows must be currently engaged in (or retired or semi-retired from) full-time legal work, whether in private law practice, in a corporate legal or tax department, in a governmental legal position, in a trade association, in a law school teaching position, or a combination thereof. For all prospective Fellows, demonstration of a high standard of excellence and ethical conduct in the practice of tax law is required. This commitment can be shown in a number of ways, including through active involvement in the taxation committees or sections of national, regional, state or local bar associations, as well as through significant legal writing, teaching in the field, and holding responsible national or regional office involving tax administration.

At its September 17, 2021 meeting, the College’s Board of Regents also appointed Adam M. Cohen of Holland & Hart LLP, Denver, CO., to fill a vacancy as the Regent for the Tenth Circuit. That vacancy resulted from the August 16, 2021 passing of Jonathan Forman, who at the time of his death was the Kenneth E. McAfee Centennial Chair in Law at the University of Oklahoma College of Law. Caroline D. Ciraolo, President of the College, said “Jon represented the best of us and will be terribly missed by his family, friends, students, colleagues, and so many others in the tax bar.”

About the American College of Tax Counsel

The American College of Tax Counsel is a professional association of tax attorneys in private law firms and in-house legal departments, on the bench, in federal or state government, or in academia. The College serves important roles regarding the nation’s tax laws by communicating with Congress, the Treasury Department and the IRS on federal tax issues and through the filing of “friend of the court” briefs in selected tax cases. A Board of 19 Regents serves as the governing body of the College, with one regent drawn from each of the 13 federal judicial circuits, plus two at-large positions. The Board is rounded out by the four members of the Executive Committee – President, Vice President, Secretary-Treasurer and Last Retiring President. The College can be found online at

Pamela Lyons
American College of Tax Counsel
+1 888-549-4177
email us here