There were 174 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 152,277 in the last 365 days.

South Africa: President Cyril Ramaphosa to Attend Southern African Development Community (SADC) Summit in Namibia

Republic of South Africa: The Presidency Download logo

President Cyril Ramaphosa will from 16-18 August 2018 lead South Africa’s delegation to the 38th Ordinary Summit of the Heads of State and Government of the Southern African Development Community (SADC) in Windhoek, Namibia.

The Summit will take place under the theme “Promoting Infrastructure Development and Youth Empowerment for Sustainable Development”.  The Summit will be preceded by a meeting of the SADC Organ on Politics Defence and Security tomorrow, Thursday 16 August 2018.

In his role as Outgoing Chair of SADC, President Cyril Ramaphosa will deliver a report to the Summit outlining the work of the regional body for the duration of South Africa’s tenure as Chair from August 2017 to August 2018. As Chair, South Africa was guided by its tenure theme, “Partnering with the Private Sector in Developing Industry and Regional Value Chains”.

Among other issues, the Summit will discuss socio-economic situation in the region, while Angola will, as Chair of the Organ on Politics, Defence and Security Cooperation, report on the state of peace and security in the region. Particular attention will be paid to recent and forthcoming elections in the region, including in Zimbabwe, Madagascar, Eswatini and the Democratic Republic of the Congo.

In line with customary practice in SADC, a recorded 2018 SADC Day message by President Ramaphosa, in his capacity as Chair, will be broadcast on national radio and television services throughout the region tomorrow, 17 August.

In addition, the President will participate in the prizegiving ceremony for the annual SADC Media Awards and SADC Secondary School Essay Competition.

South Africa will remain a member of the SADC Troika as Outgoing Chair until August 2019.

President Ramaphosa is accompanied by the Minister Lindiwe Sisulu - Minister of International Relations and Cooperation, Minister Jeff Radebe- Minister of Energy, Minister Nosiviwe Mapisa-Nqakula -Minister of Defence, Minister Rob Davies - Minister of Trade and Industry , Minister Nhlanhla Nene - Minister of Finance and Minister Dipuo Letsatsi-Duba -Minister of State Security.

Distributed by APO Group on behalf of Republic of South Africa: The Presidency.

EIN Presswire does not exercise editorial control over third-party content provided, uploaded, published, or distributed by users of EIN Presswire. We are a distributor, not a publisher, of 3rd party content. Such content may contain the views, opinions, statements, offers, and other material of the respective users, suppliers, participants, or authors.