There were 1,053 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 468,311 in the last 365 days.

High School Students Compete to Represent Colorado at the 26th Annual National Science Bowl™ in Washington, DC

February 18, 2016

Forty-five student teams from Colorado high schools will answer on-the-spot science and math questions during the 26th Colorado Science Bowl on Saturday, February 20, at Dakota Ridge High School. The competition is organized and hosted by the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) National Renewable Energy Laboratory.i

The DOE Science Bowl began in 1991 as a way to encourage high school students to explore math and science in a fun academic competition. DOE's Golden Field Office once again is a major sponsor of this year's event. The Golden Field Office supports DOE's Office of Energy Efficiency and Renewable Energy.

"The Science Bowl showcases the talents and hard work of the best and brightest high school students in the state", said DOE Golden Field Office Director Derek Passarelli. "The intellectual curiosity, knowledge and energy that the students of Colorado bring to this competition is inspiring. DOE is proud to support the Colorado High School Science Bowl, as we have since its inception."

Students will answer rapid-fire questions in tournament rounds lasting only 16 minutes. Questions cover topics including physics, mathematics, biology, chemistry, earth and space sciences, energy and general sciences, and are targeted to the college freshman level. Each team is made up of four students, one alternate and a coach.

The winning team advances to DOE's National Science Bowl, April 28 - May 2 in Washington, DC, where more than 400 students from 70 high schools will compete for the national title.

This year's Colorado Science Bowl teams include: 

  • Arapahoe High School (Centennial) - two teams
  • Cherokee Trail High School (Aurora)
  • Cherry Creek High School (Greenwood Village) - two teams
  • Cheyenne Mountain High School (Colorado Springs) - two teams
  • Coronado High School (Colorado Springs) - two teams
  • Dakota Ridge High School (Littleton) - two teams
  • Douglas County High School (Castle Rock)
  • Early College of Arvada (Arvada) - two teams
  • Fairview High School (Boulder) - two teams
  • Fossil Ridge High School ( Ft. Collins) - two teams
  • Jefferson Academy (Broomfield) - two teams
  • Lakewood High School (Lakewood) - two teams
  • Liberty Common High School
  • Littleton High School (Littleton)
  • Loveland High School (Loveland)
  • Niwot High School (Niwot)
  • Peak to Charter High School (Lafayette) - two teams
  • Poudre High School (Ft. Collins) -two teams
  • Ralston Valley Senior High School (Arvada) - two teams
  • Rangeview High School (Aurora) - two teams
  • Ridgeview Classical Charter - two teams
  • Rocky Mountain - two teams
  • Smoky Hill High School (Aurora)
  • South High School (Denver)
  • Standley Lake High School (Westminster)
  • Vail Christian High School (Vail) - two teams
  • Valor Christian High School (Highlands Ranch)

The Colorado Science Bowl runs from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. on February 20 at Dakota Ridge High School, 13399 W. Coal Mine Ave., Littleton. Sponsors for the event are DOE's Golden Field Office; the DOE Office of Science, DOE's National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL); Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC; Jefferson County Public Schools; Dakota Ridge High School; and Verizon. 

NREL is the U.S. Department of Energy's primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. NREL is operated for DOE by the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC.



Visit NREL online at