There were 1,006 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 466,731 in the last 365 days.

Ridgeview Classical Charter Schools Wins 26th Colorado Science Bowl

February 22, 2016

Students from Ridgeview Classical Charter Schools won the Colorado High School Science Bowl. They will represent the state of Colorado at the U.S. Department of Energy's (DOE) National Science Bowl in Washington D.C., April 28- May 2, where they will compete against more than 400 students from 70 high schools for the national title.

The DOE Science Bowl began in 1991 as a way to encourage high school students to explore math and science. DOE's Golden Field Office once again served as one of the major sponsors of this year's Colorado Science Bowl, along with DOE's National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL).

Forty-five teams from across the state competed in the day-long competition at Dakota Ridge High School in Littleton. In the final round, Ridgeview Classical Charter Schools from Fort Collins, won by a score of 64 to 38, prevailing over second place Fairview High School from Boulder, after correctly answering rapid-fire questions in physics, math, biology, astronomy, chemistry, anthropology and earth sciences.

Cheyenne Mountain High School (Team 2) from Colorado Springs rounded out the top finishers, earning the third place trophy. Other school teams that excelled during the morning competitions and advanced to the afternoon double-elimination contests were:

  • Arapahoe High School (Team 2) (Centennial)
  • Cherry Creek High School (Team 1) (Denver)
  • Cheyenne Mountain High School (Team 1) (Colorado Springs)
  • Coronado High School (Team 1) (Colorado Springs)
  • Fossil Ridge High School (Team 1) (Fort Collins)
  • Lakewood High School (Team 1) (Lakewood)
  • Liberty Common High School (Fort Collins)
  • Loveland High School (Team 1) (Loveland)
  • Peak to Peak Charter School (Team 1) (Lafayette)
  • Poudre High School (Team 1) (Fort Collins)
  • Ralston Valley High School (Team 1) (Arvada)
  • Rangeview High School (Team 1) (Aurora)
  • Rocky Mountain High School (Team 1) (Fort Collins)

The National Science Bowl is celebrating over a quarter century of competition as the only academic event of its kind sponsored by a U.S. government agency.  Each year, approximately 15,000 high school students from across the country compete for a chance to go to Washington D.C. for the national finals.

Sponsors for the event are the DOE Golden Field Office; The DOE Office of Science; DOE's National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL); Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC; Jefferson County Public Schools; Dakota Ridge High School; and Verizon.

NREL is the U.S. Department of Energy's primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. NREL is operated for DOE by the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC.


High-resolution photographs and video of the competition are available to the media on request.




Visit NREL online at