There were 810 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 447,635 in the last 365 days.

Prof Anthony Hardy re-elected as Scientific Committee Chair

News in brief 23 July 2015

Prof Anthony Hardy has been re-elected to the chairship of EFSA’s leading group of scientific experts for a second three-year term. He is joined at the helm of the Scientific Committee by newly elected Vice-Chairs, Dr Diane Benford and Dr Hubert Noteborn.

Following his re-election Prof Hardy said: “It is an honour for me to receive the backing of my peers for a second term. Whilst chairing this group over the last three years, the Scientific Committee has embarked on several key initiatives that cut across all areas of EFSA’s work. I welcome the opportunity to complete this important journey and to help EFSA take on the food safety challenges of tomorrow.”

As well as his respected leadership skills, Prof Hardy brings decades of expertise in risk assessment and the environmental impact of pesticides, GMOs and contaminants on wildlife, to the Scientific Committee. Dr Benford is a highly experienced toxicologist and the former Chair of EFSA’s Panel on Contaminants in the Food Chain. Dr Noteborn rounds out the leadership team and brings with him extensive experience and knowledge of emerging risks and data science.

The Scientific Committee – including the newly elected Chairs of eight renewed EFSA Scientific Panels – met today to elect a Chair and two Vice-Chairs and to discuss its work programme for its new three year mandate.


Chair and Vice-Chairs, EFSA Scientific Committee, 2015-2018

EFSA’s Scientific Committee, 2015-2018