There were 1,351 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 454,808 in the last 365 days.

EFSA’s new scientific Panels elect Chairs

News in brief 9 July 2015

Eight of EFSA’s ten scientific Panels and its Scientific Committee that renewed their membership for a three-year term from 1 July 2015 have elected their Chairs and Vice-Chairs. Over 170 scientific experts have joined EFSA’s scientific Panels and its Scientific Committee with many of them coming from academia.

Four of the Panels had their inaugural sessions this week: the Panel on Biological Hazards (BIOHAZ), the Panel on Additives and Products or Substances used in Animal Feed (FEEDAP), the Panel on Genetically Modified Organisms (GMO) and the Panel on Plant Protection Products and their Residues (PPR).

The four Panels that had their first plenaries already last week are: the Panel on Animal Health and Welfare (AHAW), the Panel on Contaminants in the Food Chain (CONTAM), the Panel on Dietetic Products, Nutrition and Allergies (NDA), and the Panel on Plant Health (PLH).

All Panels have now elected their Chair:

EFSA’s scientific Panels and its Scientific Committee consist of independent scientists who assist the organisation in delivering high-quality scientific advice to European decision makers on all issues related to food safety.

All Panel Chairs are also members of EFSA’s Scientific Committee which takes on a strategic role and addresses scientific matters of a horizontal nature. The Scientific Committee will meet for its first plenary on 23 July 2015.