IMPORTANT - EIN Presswire is proud to announce the launch of its AI-powered press release generator. Try it now!

There were 210 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 394,052 in the last 365 days.

Students from 48 Colorado High Schools to Compete in Colorado Science Bowl

Thursday, February 27, 2014

On March 1, hundreds of Colorado high school students will be racking their brains to quickly find answers to rapid-fire questions at the 24th Colorado Science Bowl from 9 a.m. to 5:30 p.m. at Dakota Ridge High School, 13399 W. Coal Mine Ave., Littleton.

Forty-eight teams will face off as scientists and volunteers from the Energy Department’s (DOE) National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL) quiz them with science and math questions. The winning team advances to DOE’s National Science Bowl in Washington, D.C. April 24-28, where more than 400 students from 70 high schools will compete for the national title.

Students will answer rapid-fire questions with tournament rounds lasting only 16 minutes. Questions cover physics, mathematics, biology, chemistry, earth and space science, energy and general sciences, and are pegged at the college freshman level. Each team is made up of four students, one alternate and a coach.

DOE began the science bowl tradition in 1991 as a way to encourage high school students to explore math and science in a fun academic competition. DOE’s Golden Service Center is again one of the major sponsors of the event.

"The Science Bowl is a great way to inspire the next generation of scientists and engineers," said DOE Golden Service Center Deputy Director Tim Meeks. "These young people are among our brightest and hardest working, and my hope is that they will go on to pursue careers in science or engineering and set an example for other young people to follow."

Reigning Colorado Science Bowl champions, Lakewood High School, will return to defend its state title. This year’s Colorado Science Bowl teams include:

• Arapahoe High School (Centennial) • Cherokee Trail High School (Aurora) – two teams • Cherry Creek High School (Greenwood Village) – two teams • Cheyenne Mountain High School (Colorado Springs) – two teams • Colorado Springs Early College • Coronado High School (Colorado Springs) • Dakota Ridge High School (Littleton) – two teams • Dolores Huerta Preparatory High (Pueblo) • Douglas County High School (Castle Rock) – two teams • Early College of Arvada (Arvada) • Fairview High School ( Boulder)– two teams • Fort Collins High School (Fort Collins) • Fossil Ridge High School (Fort Collins) • Highlands Ranch High School (Highlands Ranch) • Jefferson Academy (Broomfield) • Justice High School (Lafayette) • Lakewood High School (Lakewood) – two teams • Liberty Common High School (Fort Collins) – two teams • Loveland High School (Loveland) – two teams • Peak to Peak Charter School (Lafayette) – two teams • Poudre High School (Poudre) • Pueblo Centennial High School (Pueblo)– two teams • Ralston Valley High School (Arvada) – two teams • Rampart High School (Colorado Springs) • Rangeview High School (Aurora) – two teams • Ridgeview Classical Schools (Fort Collins) – two teams • Rocky Mountain High School (Fort Collins) – two teams • Smoky Hill High School (Aurora) – two teams • Standley Lake High School (Westminster) • Thunder Ridge High School (Highlands Ranch) • University High School (Greeley) • Valor Christian High School (Highlands Ranch)

Sponsors for the event are the DOE’s Golden Service Center; NREL; the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC; Jefferson County Public Schools; Dakota Ridge High School; and DOE’s Office of Science.

NREL is the U.S. Department of Energy's primary national laboratory for renewable energy and energy efficiency research and development. NREL is operated for DOE by the Alliance for Sustainable Energy, LLC.


Visit NREL online at

For further information contact NREL Public Relations at 303-275-4090. Subscribe to receive new NREL releases by e-mail. Subscribe to RSS feed. NREL News Releases RSS Feed (XML) About RSS.