There were 713 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 451,990 in the last 365 days.

Western Hemisphere: J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board Convenes in Washington, DC, Hosts Panel on Impact of Fulbright Program in Latin America

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board will convene its 260th quarterly meeting in Washington, DC, September 11-12, 2013. The Board will host a public discussion, Fulbright in Latin America—Our Neighbors, Our Family: The Role of Educational Exchange in Regional Advancement, on Thursday, September 12, 2013, 11:00 a.m. to 12:30 p.m., at the George C. Marshall Center, U.S. Department of State (2201 C Street, NW, Washington, DC).

Tom Healy, Chairman, J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board, will introduce the event, and Ambassador Gabriel Guerra-Mondragón, former U.S. Ambassador to Chile and member of the J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board, will moderate the discussion.

The panel of experts includes: Dr. Judith Freidenberg, Professor of Anthropology, University of Maryland; Fulbright Alumna Hilda Ochoa-Brillembourg, Founder, Chairman, CEO and CIO, Strategic Investment GroupÒ; Fulbright Alumna Dan Restrepo, Senior Fellow, Center for American Progress Dr. Andrew Selee, Vice President for Programs and Senior Advisor, Mexico Institute, Woodrow Wilson International Center for Scholars; former Board Member, COMEXUS

The event will be open to the press and streamed live at

Pre set for video cameras: 10:00 a.m. from the 21st Street Lobby. Final access time for journalists and still photographers: 10:30 a.m. from the 21st Street Lobby.

Media representatives may attend this event upon presentation of one of the following: (1) a U.S. Government-issued identification card (Department of State, White House, Congress, Department of Defense, or Foreign Press Center), (2) a media-issued photo identification card, or (3) a letter from their employer on letterhead verifying their employment as a journalist accompanied by an official photo identification (driver’s license or passport).

Media Contacts: Catherine Stearns,, 202-431-1594 Josué Barrera,, 202-632-6454

The J. William Fulbright Foreign Scholarship Board, appointed by the President of the United States, was established by the U.S. Congress to supervise the Fulbright Program as well as establish worldwide policies. The 12-member Board, which meets quarterly, also selects all U.S. and foreign participants in the Fulbright Program.

The Fulbright Program, sponsored by the Department of State's Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs, is the U.S. Government's flagship international exchange program and is supported by the people of the United States and partner countries. Since 1946, the Fulbright Program has provided more than 318,000 participants from over 155 countries with the opportunity to study, teach and conduct research, to exchange ideas, and contribute to finding solutions to shared international concerns.