There were 870 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 448,957 in the last 365 days.

Delaware Senate confirms Collins to lead Aglands Preservation Foundation Board of Trustees

Department of Agriculture logo

DOVER, Del. (June 23, 2020) – Through a virtual confirmation hearing, the Delaware Senate confirmed and appointed Mark Collins to lead the Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Foundation Board of Trustees.

“We want to take this time to personally to thank Chairman Bob Garey for his dedicated service to the Aglands Foundation over the past 25 years,” said Delaware Secretary of Agriculture Michael T. Scuse. “We are pleased with the Senate’s confirmation of Mark Collins and are looking forward to working with him as he steps into the chairmanship of the Foundation. As a fifth-generation family farmer, Mark has participated in the Aglands Preservation Program and understands the importance of preserving farmland so that we can continue to locally produce food.”

Mark Collins, Chairman, Delaware Aglands Foundation Board of Trustees: As a life-long family farmer from Laurel, Mark Collins tills 1,300 acres. He and his wife, Dawn, produce watermelon, corn, soybeans, and poultry. Collins has been involved in the Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Program with land enrolled in an agricultural district for 25 years. He has had the development rights purchased by the state over the years, so that farmland can be preserved for the next generation at DMC Farms. A graduate of the University of Delaware, Collins earned a Bachelor of Science degree in agricultural engineering. He has been instrumental in the Laurel Auction Market and the Mar-Del Watermelon Association, having served as a board member and president. He has served as an Executive Committee Member and Executive Council Member of the National Watermelon Association. Collins was recognized by the University of Delaware’s College of Agriculture and Natural Resources in March 2019 with the Distinguished Alumni Aware for his outstanding career accomplishments, service, and leadership to the agricultural profession and community.

The original farmland preservation law was passed in 1991, which established the Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Foundation Board of Trustees and county level advisory boards. The first funding was received in FY1996, part of the 21st Century Fund.

Collins is only the third chair of the Board of Trustees in the history of the Delaware Agricultural Lands Preservation Foundation. His appointment will begin on July 1, 2020.


Media Contact: Stacey Hofmann, 302-698-4542,