There were 572 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 156,224 in the last 365 days.

Fifty-six Teachers Honored by Kansas Reading Roadmap as Outstanding Early Literacy Teachers

The Reading Roadmap is proud to recognize this outstanding group of professionals. They represent all the great teachers across Kansas who are promoting early literacy.”
— Andrew Hysell
TOPEKA, KS KANSAS, USA, May 10, 2019 / -- Fifty-six teachers and classroom staff are being honored across the state for their work promoting early literacy, ensuring that children are equipped for future educational success.

As part of National Teacher Appreciation Week, May 6-10, the Kansas Reading Roadmap (KRR) honored a teacher at 56 of their partner schools across the state. The KRR Outstanding Early Literacy Teacher award recognizes a teacher who contributes significantly to early literacy at their school.

KRR asked schools to nominate a teacher who has played a critical role in the school to help students succeed in reading. The 56 nominees were honored by KRR within their respective schools during National Teacher Appreciation Week. Those nominees will be considered by KRR for the statewide Outstanding Early Literacy Teacher of the Year honor, to be awarded at the organization’s state conference in August.

“The Reading Roadmap is proud to recognize this outstanding group of professionals. They represent all the great teachers across Kansas who are promoting early literacy,” said Andrew Hysell, KRR Director. “Studies show that students who read proficiently by the fourth grade are four times more likely to graduate from high school on time. These honorees are helping to ensure the success of not only our children, but also the future of Kansas.”

Since 2013, KRR has worked with elementary schools and Boys & Girls Clubs across the state, aligning afterschool, summer and family engagement programs with school data. KRR seeks to ensure all students read at grade level upon entering the fourth grade. KRR is a partnership between local schools, the Kansas Technical Assistance System Network (TASN), and the Kansas Department for Children and Families (DCF).

2019 Kansas Reading Roadmap Outstanding Early Literacy Teachers (alphabetical by district name):

USD 508 Baxter Springs Lincoln Elementary Heidi Turner
USD 440 Bentley-Halstead Bentley Primary Brianna Kraus
USD 288 Central Heights Central Heights Elementary Sarah Evans
USD 247 Cherokee Southeast Elementary Jennifer Lynch
USD 447 Cherryvale Cherryvale Elementary Kelli McMillan
USD 505 Chetopa Chetopa Elementary Lori Midgett
USD 493 Columbus Highland Elementary Shari Napier
USD 493 Columbus Park Elementary Misty Smith
USD 216 Deerfield Deerfield Elementary Amanda Michel
USD 283 Elk Valley Elk Valley Elementary Stephanie Dowell
USD 310 Fairfield Fairfield Elementary Laurie Zink
USD 457 Garden City Abe Hubert Elementary Amber Doyle
USD 457 Garden City Buffalo Jones Elementary Mary (Connie) Carrillo
USD 457 Garden City Florence Wilson Elementary Morgan Allaman
USD 457 Garden City Gertrude Walker Elementary Peggy Patterson
USD 457 Garden City Victor Ornelas Elementary Jessica Solis Algrim
USD 428 Great Bend Eisenhower Elementary Rachel Clawson
USD 428 Great Bend Jefferson Elementary Jami Reed
USD 428 Great Bend Lincoln Elementary Meredith Ramsey
USD 428 Great Bend Park Elementary Carolyn Oetkens
USD 428 Great Bend Riley Elementary Tandi Mai
USD 487 Herington Herington Elementary Amy Gutsch
USD 258 Humboldt Humboldt Elementary Cara Thomas
USD 506 Labette County Altamont Elementary Teresa Leake
USD 506 Labette County Edna Grade School Michelle Traxson
USD 506 Labette County Meadow View Elementary DeRhonda Newby
USD 506 Labette County Mound Valley Grade School Pat Brothers
USD 497 Lawrence Kennedy Elementary Meredith Holland
USD 497 Lawrence Pinckney Elementary Carly Glennon
USD 497 Lawrence Schwegler Elementary Christy McWhirt
USD 386 Madison-Virgil Madison Elementary Carla Argabright
USD 383 Manhattan-Ogden Bluemont Elementary Kim Iversen
USD 383 Manhattan-Ogden Franklin V. Bergman Elementary Debra Schapaugh
USD 383 Manhattan-Ogden Lee Elementary Karen Buyle
USD 383 Manhattan-Ogden Northview Elementary Andrea Wollenberg
USD 383 Manhattan-Ogden Ogden Elementary Marcia Schreiner
USD 383 Manhattan-Ogden Theodore Roosevelt Marilyn George
USD 417 Morris Council Grove Elementary Robin Frye
USD 417 Morris Prairie Heights Elementary Krista Wilson
USD 322 Onaga Onaga Elementary Stacy Rempe
USD 341 Oskaloosa Oskaloosa Elementary Stacia Pfau
USD 504 Oswego Neosho Heights Elementary Megan Baker
USD 503 Parsons Lincoln and Garfield Elementary Toni Habiger
USD 404 Riverton Riverton Elementary Christy Mercer
USD 434 Santa Fe Trail Overbrook Attendance Center Mallory Koger
USD 252 Southern Lyon Neosho Rapids Elementary Gwen Wellnitz
USD 235 Uniontown West Bourbon Elementary Tammy Townsend
USD 498 Valley Heights Valley Heights Elementary Justine DeBoer
USD 353 Wellington Kennedy Elementary Daphne Adams
USD 353 Wellington Lincoln Elementary Sheila Buck
USD 353 Wellington Washington Elementary Gina Schnelle
USD 259 Wichita Mueller Elementary Jennifer Carr
USD 465 Winfield Irving Elementary Sarah Stone
USD 465 Winfield Lowell Elementary Allisson Kearn
USD 465 Winfield Whittier Elementary Jaci Littrell
USD 465 Winfield Country View Elementary Sarah Fischer

Andrew Hysell
Reading Roadmap
+1 785-350-2922
email us here
Visit us on social media:

Distribution channels: Business & Economy, Education

EIN Presswire does not exercise editorial control over third-party content provided, uploaded, published, or distributed by users of EIN Presswire. We are a distributor, not a publisher, of 3rd party content. Such content may contain the views, opinions, statements, offers, and other material of the respective users, suppliers, participants, or authors.