There were 17 press releases posted in the last 24 hours and 170,500 in the last 365 days.

MIM Music Theater Announces Fall 2017 Concert Series

Series features more than forty-five concerts spanning multiple genres from around the world

/EIN News/ -- Phoenix, Aug. 02, 2017 (GLOBE NEWSWIRE) -- The MIM Music Theater proudly announces their Fall 2017 Concert Series sponsored in part by Sanderson Lincoln. It includes more than forty-five concerts from September through December, spanning multiple genres from across the globe. 

0_int_MIM_Music_Theater_Fall_2017_Concert_Series.jpg


2_int_MIMLogo-Left-Black.jpg


The series promises to be their most diverse lineup yet. Highlights include a soulful performance by Irma Thomas and the Blind Boys of Alabama, with the Preservation Hall Legacy Quintet, who are touring together for the first time. Wu Man will help celebrate MIM’s new exhibition opening in November by performing traditional, ancient, and historic music of China. The Sachal Ensemble, inspired by the acclaimed documentary film of the same name, merge Eastern and Western sounds while confronting terrorism in their native homeland of Pakistan. 

Guests can look forward to the return of several favorites to the MIM Music Theater, including American cellist and folk singer Leyla McCalla, Grammy-winning artist Loudon Wainwright III, and singer-songwriter Shawn Colvin who is celebrating the 20th Anniversary of her debut album, A Few Small Repairs. This album produced the smash hit “Sunny Came Home” which won the Grammy Award for Song of the Year and Record of the Year in 1998.

The series also welcomes some artists who will be performing at the MIM Music Theater for their first time. New performers include acoustic-electronica trio GoGo Penguin, Galician singer Xabier Díaz & Adufeiras de Salitre, jazz quartet Fourplay, multiple award-winning Gaelic singer Julie Fowlis, and Americana roots rock band Donna the Buffalo.

The MIM Music Theater presents over 250 concerts per year and has had over 150 Grammy-winning artists perform on its stage. Within the span of only seven years, the theater has been recognized as one of the top music venues of its size, anywhere in the world. It has received praise from audiences and musicians for its unparalleled intimate atmosphere and acoustically superb sound quality.  

Tickets for the 2017 Fall Concert Series are now on sale to the public. Additional artists will be added to the lineup throughout the season. To get the latest information on these announcements, visit MIM.org and sign up for their concert newsletters.

###

About MIM and the MIM Music Theater

The Musical Instrument Museum (MIM) enriches our world by collecting, preserving, and making accessible an astonishing variety of musical instruments and performance videos from every country in the world. MIM offers guests a welcoming and fun experience, incomparable interactive technology, dynamic programming, and exceptional musical performances. MIM fosters appreciation of the world’s diverse cultures by showing how we innovate, adapt, and learn from each other to create music—the language of the soul.

In addition to hosting performances by renowned artists, the MIM Music Theater introduces guests to emerging talents from around the world. It has been called, “the best 300-seat venue in the country,” by Grammy-winner Shawn Colvin. Each performance is an extension of the museum exhibits - showcasing the instruments, the people who play them, and the musical language we share.

Find MIM on Facebook: Facebook.com/MIMphx; Twitter and Instagram: @MIMphx

Concert Lineup

September 

Radney Foster
Friday September 1
7:30 p.m.

David Cook
Saturday, September 2
7:30 p.m. 

Ana Popovic
Sunday, September 3
7:00 p.m. 

Carbon Leaf
Monday, September 4
7:00 p.m. 

Kaki King and Derek Gripper
Thursday, September 7
7:30 p.m. 

Eliane Elias
Saturday, September 9
7:00 p.m. and 9:00 p.m. 

Southern Avenue
Saturday, September 16
7:30 p.m. 

GoGo Penguin
Sunday, September 17
7:00 p.m. 

Pascuala Ilabaca y Fauna
Wednesday, September 20
7:00 p.m. 

Leyla McCalla
Thursday, September 21
7:30 p.m. 

The Accidentals
Friday, September 22
7:30 p.m. 

Xabier Díaz & Adufeiras de Salitre
Sunday, September 24
7:00 p.m.

Debashish Bhattacharya and Derek Gripper
Monday, September 25
7:00 p.m. 

Fourplay
Thursday, September 28
7:00 p.m. and 9:00 p.m. 

Michael Kaeshammer
Saturday, September 30
7:30 p.m.  

October

Cristina Pato
Sunday, October 1
7:00 p.m. 

Bill Dutcher and Extreme Acoustic Ensembles
Tuesday, October 3
7:00 p.m. 

Skerryvore
Wednesday, October 4
7:00 p.m. 

Vieux Farka Touré
Thursday, October 5
7:30 p.m. 

Danilo Pérez: PanaMonk
In collaboration with The Nash’s 5th Anniversary
Friday, October 6
6:00 p.m. 

Marc Broussard
Friday, October 6
8:30 p.m. 

Irma Thomas and The Blind Boys of Alabama
With the Preservation Hall Legacy Quintet
Saturday, October 7
6:00 p.m. and 8:30 p.m. 

Loudon Wainwright III
Sunday, October 8
7:00 p.m. 

Radical Face
Opening Act: Aisha Badru
Tuesday, October 10
7:00 p.m.

Inti-Illimani
Thursday, October 12
7:00 p.m. 

Shawn Colvin: A Few Small Repairs 20th Anniversary Tour
With Special Guests Larry Campbell And Teresa Williams
Friday, October 13
Saturday, October 14
7:30 p.m. 

Julie Fowlis
Sunday, October 15
3:00 p.m. and 7:00 p.m. 

Julian Lage and Chris Eldridge
Monday, October 16
7:00 p.m. 

David Sanborn Electric Band
Tuesday, October 17
7:00 p.m. and 9:00 p.m. 

Lorrie Morgan
Saturday, October 21
7:30 p.m.   

Jonatha Brooke
Sunday, October 22
7:00 p.m. 

Las Migas
Tuesday, October 24
7:00 p.m. 

Sarah Jarosz
Opening Act: The Brother Brothers
Wednesday, October 25
7:00 p.m.

Regina Carter: Simply Ella
Friday, October 27
7:30 p.m. 

November 

Kandace Springs
Thursday, November 2
7:30 p.m. 

Ballaké Sissoko and Vincent Ségal
Friday, November 3
7:30 p.m. 

Gypsy Soul
Saturday, November 4
7:30 p.m. 

Arizona Musicfest Young Musicians Concert
Sunday, November 5
2:00 p.m. 

Donna The Buffalo
Sunday, November 5
7:00 p.m. 

Haas Kowert Tice                               
Wednesday, November 8
7:00 p.m. 

Wu Man
Performing Traditional, Ancient, and Historic Music of China
Saturday, November 11
7:30 p.m. 

The Sachal Ensemble: Song of Lahore
Sunday, November 12
7:00 p.m. 

The Jerry Douglas Band
Tuesday, November 14
7:00 p.m. 

Al Stewart: Year of the Cat
With Special Guest Empty Pockets
Thursday, November 16
Friday, November 17
7:00 p.m. 

Tango Buenos Aires: The Spirit of Argentina
Monday, November 20
7:00 p.m.

Irish Christmas in America
Monday, November 27
Tuesday, November 28
7:00 p.m. 

Quebe Sisters
Wednesday, November 29
7:00 p.m. 

December

 Sharon Isbin and The Pacifica Quartet
Thursday, December 7
7:30 p.m. 

The Mike Stern Quartet
With Tom Kennedy, Randy Brecker, and Dave Weckl
Friday, December 8
7:00 p.m. and 9:00 p.m. 

Taylor Hicks
Sunday, December 10
7:00 p.m. 

Phoenix Boys Choir
Thursday, December 14
7:30 p.m. 

Cherish the Ladies: Celtic Christmas
Tuesday, December 19
7:00 p.m. 

Jim Brickman
Saturday, December 30
7:00 p.m.
Sunday, December 31
6:00 p.m. and 8:00 p.m.

Attachments:

A photo accompanying this announcement is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/NewsRoom/AttachmentNg/121d6b50-26c0-4213-a3a6-bd3abe39b224

Attachments:

A photo accompanying this announcement is available at http://www.globenewswire.com/NewsRoom/AttachmentNg/47a40969-bcc0-4153-bab6-f844a25ceea9

Chris Wieman
Musical Instrument Museum (MIM)
480.245.6953
Chris.Wieman@MIM.org